Cambridge English: First (FCE)

First FCE logo

FCE is an exam which shows that you can use everyday written and spoken English at an upper-intermediate level. It is an ideal exam for people who want to use English for work or study purposes.

Deadline for enrolment for March: March 5

Is FCE for you?

Can you...

  • understand texts from a wide variety of sources?
  • use English to make notes while someone is speaking in English?
  • talk to people about a wide variety of topics?
  • understand people talking in English on radio or television programmes?

If you are working towards acquiring those skills and your level of English currently permits you to do approximately those things, then FCE is probably the right exam for you.

What level is FCE?

FCE corresponds to Level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) | more information.

At B2 level, typical users can be expected to:

  • understand the main ideas of complex pieces of writing
  • keep up a conversation on a fairly wide range of topics, expressing opinions and presenting arguments
  • produce clear, detailed writing, expressing opinions and explaining the advantages and disadvantages of different points of view.

Your preparation for FCE will give you these kinds of practical language skills.

When and where can you take FCE?

The table below shows when and where you can take FCE at one or more of our centres:

Centre Mar. Apr. May Jun. Jul. Sept. Oct. Dec.
Barcelona Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes* Yes Yes
Mataró Yes Yes Yes Yes
Palma Yes Yes Yes
Sabadell Yes Yes Yes
Tarragona Yes Yes
Terrassa Yes Yes Yes
Zaragoza                

*Computer-based

For exact details (dates, etc), pick your exam centre from the table.

Dates 2017, written exams

(CB) = Computer-based | (S) = For schools

Exam session Written exam Enrolment deadline Price
February 2017 (CB) Saturday, 18 February 29 January 188€
March 2017 (CB) Saturday, 18 March 5 March 188€
April 2017 Saturday, 8 April 26 February 188€
May 2017 Saturday, 13 May 2 April 188€
May 2017 (CB) Saturday, 20 May 30 April 188€
May 2017 (S) Saturday, 27 May 16 April 188€
June 2017 Saturday, 3 June 16 April 188€
June 2017 Martes, 6 June 30 April 188€
June 2017 (CB) Saturday, 10 June 14 May 188€
June 2017 (S) Saturday, 10 June 7 May 188€
July 2017 (S) Saturday, 1 July 21 May 188€
July 2017 (CB) Saturday, 8 July 11 June 188€
July 2017 Thursday, 27 July 18 June 188€
August 2017 Thursday, 24 August 23 July 188€
September 2017 (CB) Friday, 22 September 3 September 188€
October 2017 Saturday, 7 October 3 September 188€
December 2017 (S) Saturday, 2 December 22 October 188€
December 2017 Saturday, 9 December 22 October 188€

Oral exams
Dates of oral exams can be from up to two weeks before the written exams (see above) until the following day, including Saturdays.

Find out more

Past papers, etc

How to prepare