Cambridge exams and IELTS tests

 Cambridge exams

Accepted by over 20,000 organisations around the world.

 IELTS Tests

Want to live, work or study abroad? The answer is IELTS.

Cambridge English exams and IELTS – what are the differences?

Cambridge English

All the Main Suite exams award candidates a pass or fail grade. Certificates awarded to candidates who pass a Cambridge English exam have no expiry date.

Cambridge exams are typically taken by students who want a universally recognised certificate which indicates the level of English they have achieved.

There are no set age limits for Cambridge English exams. There are, however, specially designed exams for younger learners (in primary or lower secondary schools), as well as special editions for schools of KET, PET and First.


The IELTS test doesn't pass or fail candidates; instead students receive a score (e.g. 6.5) according to their overall level. This grade is valid for 2 years.

IELTS is typically taken by students who want to study at a university or college in an English speaking county. It's also the exam that many countries use for immigration purposes.

There is no age limit for IELTS, but it is not recommended for anyone under the age of 16.